In the United States, there are 50 states and 50 unique sets of car insurance laws. Virginia car insurance laws are different than anywhere else. If you’re living and driving in this great state, it’s important that you know these car insurance basics.
If you buy car insurance in Virginia, you are required to have a certain amount of coverage. However, these are just minimums and it can be smart to exceed these limits. Virginia drivers must have liability coverage with $25,000 for injuries per person, $50,000 for total injuries accident, and $20,000 property damage for each accident.
Fee for Uninsured Drivers
If you cannot or will not buy Virginia car insurance, you must pay $500 to the state when you register your vehicle. This is in addition to your registration fees. This option does not protect you from financial liability if you are found to be at fault for an accident.
If you choose to pay the fee instead of getting insurance, you may end up paying for an accident out-of-pocket. That would mean paying for another driver’s repairs and medical fees. This could cost you tens of thousands of dollars in the long run.
Make sure to talk to your insurance agent to determine what amount of insurance is right for you.